We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

13 July, 2005

Winners of the National Youth Parliament Competition take tea at 10 Downing Street today

Last week’s awards ceremony on 7 July for 6 schools, who excelled in this year’s National Youth Parliament Competition, was cut short by the terrorist attacks.

Not all schools were able to make the awards and Neema Begum, winner of the Best Opposition Spokesperson award, was caught up in Tavistock Square as the blast occurred. The young people who entered the competition, which aims to strengthen young people’s understanding of democracy, are determined that the tragedy which occurred last week should not stop their or other students’ lives continuing as normal. So, to celebrate their success, the following schools will take tea today at 10 Downing Street:

• The Stanway School and Humanities College, Essex, winning team, Andrew Kuszyk, Best Prime Minister and Abigail Rogers, Best Minister

• Newport High School for Girls, Shropshire, runners-up

• Robert May’s School, Hampshire, Best Press Officers

• Thomas Jackson, Best Leader of the Opposition, Westcliff High School, Essex

• Neema Begum, Best Opposition Spokesperson, Joseph Leckie Community College, Wolverhampton

• Lettie Graham, Best Backbencher, James Allen’s Girls’ School, London.

Unfortunately, Jenny McCausland, Best Speaker, Glenlola Collegiate, Co. Down, who actually made it to the awards ceremony, was not given permission to travel today.

Unfortunately, Jenny McCausland, Best Speaker, Glenlola Collegiate, Co. Down, who actually made it to the awards ceremony, was not given permission to travel today.

Organised by the Citizenship Foundation and sponsored by Norwich Union pen to 11-18 year olds nationwide, the competition helps bring to life the process of politics and government by offering young people the opportunity to set up and video their own parliamentary session. Now in its 14th year, the competition this year involved over 3,000 young people across the UK.

Tony Breslin, chief executive, Citizenship Foundation says, “All these schools have done exceptionally well to win awards in the National Youth Parliament Competition. We are very pleased that they are able to make it to Downing Street in the aftermath of last week’s events.”

Further information

To find out more please email:

Notes for editors:

1. Photos from PA will be available today and from the Citizenship Foundation, tomorrow, and video footage will be available after the event.

2. The winners of National Youth Parliament Competition 2004/5 are:

National Final Winner Debate subject or school

Winning School & Best Question Time The Stanway School and Humanities College Abolishing academic selection in secondary schools

National Runners-Up Newport High School for Girls Extending licensing hours

Other National Finalists James Allen's Girls' School Banning smoking in public places

Joseph Leckie Community Technology College Introducing national identity cards

Oakgrove Integrated College Banning smoking in public places

Best Prime Minister Andrew Kuszyk The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Minister

Abigail Rogers The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Leader of the Opposition Thomas Jackson Westcliff High School for Boys

Best Opposition Spokesperson Neema Begum Joseph Leckie City Technology College

Best Backbencher Lettie Graham

James Allen's Girls' School

Best Speaker of the House Jenny McCausland Glenlola Collegiate

The winners of the National Political Journalism Competition 2004/5 are:

School Team Issue

Broadcast Winner Darrick Wood Secondary School Neil Fenwick, Tom Stringer & Robert Peck Development of a new Tesco superstore in Orpington

Newspaper Winner Robert May’s School Claire McWethy, Hayley Pothecary & Thomas Etheridge Local housing development

Broadcast Runner up The Stanway School Philippa Russell, Angela Oxley-Crisp, Luke Wykes and Lauren Rampton Youth Crime

Newspaper Runner up Harrogate Grammar School Matthew Holehouse Freedom of Information Act

Other Broadcast Finalists Hinde House School Rebekah Walker, Sophie Clarke, Thomas Whitaker & Ashlee Martin The effect of daylight saving on teenage road accidents

Oakgrove Integrated College Rebecca Burns Northern Ireland Bill of Rights

Walton High School Thomas Swain, Alan Carr, Katie Wells Youth engagement in politics and voting

Other Newspaper Finalists Solo Entry from London Daisy Perrin Make Poverty History

St Mary’s Grammar School Aoife McCaffrey, Katrina Kelly, Niamh McGuckian and Laoiseach Scullion Immigration in Ireland

Solo Entry from Motherwell Stuart Douglas Brown’s billions for Africa

3. The Citizenship Foundation is an independent charity (no. 801360) which aims to empower individuals to engage in the wider community through education about the law, democracy and society. Founded in 1989, we focus particularly on developing young people’s citizenship skills, knowledge and understanding.


Our work includes:

• A comprehensive range of citizenship resources for a wide audience from teachers to young offenders.

• Nationwide and international training programmes.

• National active learning projects for secondary schools.

• Community projects to develop citizenship education as a collective responsibility.

• Research to advance our understanding of best practice in citizenship education.

4. The National Youth Parliament Competition was re-launched with sponsorship from Norwich Union in June 2003, at an event hosted by Cherie Booth at Downing Street.

5. Sponsorship of the National Youth Parliament Competition is part of Norwich Union’s responsible citizenship programme, which seeks to encourage individuals, business and Government not only to explore their rights but to take responsibility for their actions (www.aviva.com).

6. The National Youth Parliament Competition supports the statutory Citizenship curriculum for 11-16 year olds in England.

Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News