We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

5 July, 2005

Essex School wins the National Youth Parliament Competition

A team from The Stanway School and Humanities College has won the National Youth Parliament Competition, as well as the Best Question Time award. Chosen by a cross-party panel of MPs, the team of over 200 students filmed a debate on abolishing academic selection in secondary schools. 11 year old Abigail Rogers won Best Minister for her opening speech, with Andrew Kuszyk, who returned to work with The Stanway School from Colchester Sixth Form College, winning Best Prime Minister.

The Competition is run by the Citizenship Foundation and sponsored by Norwich Union. Open to 11-18 year olds nationwide, it helps bring to life the process of politics and government by offering young people the opportunity to set up and video their own parliamentary session. Now in its 14th year, the competition this year involved over 3,000 young people across the UK.

The winners will be awarded their prizes in the House of Lords on 7 July and will have tea at Downing Street on 13 July.

Tony Breslin, chief executive, Citizenship Foundation says, “Stanway School has done extremely well this year to win both the main award and Best Question Time. The National Youth Parliament Competition is an example of Citizenship education at its best: active, empowering and relevant.”

James Mitchell, the teacher in charge of the school’s entry to the competition, says, “This is a tremendous achievement for the school, and a credit to the 200 students who took part, and worked hard to research and write their own speeches. As a Humanities College, raising student’s awareness of political issues and encouraging debate on national and local decision making is a core part of our ethos. The provision of competitions by the Citizenship Foundation is invaluable.”

Andrew Kuszyk, Best Prime Minister says “I’m thrilled that I managed to win this award. It was great fun to have the chance to work with my old school and teachers again, however the public needn’t fear as I don’t intend to go into politics in the short to medium term.”

The Rt Hon Charles Clarke MP, Home Secretary says, “This valuable competition provides young people with the opportunity to learn about parliament and democracy through becoming actively involved.”

David Cameron MP, Shadow Education Secretary says, “Young people care passionately about issues affecting this country – and the National Youth Parliament Competition is a great way of getting involved and making the link between issues and politics.”

To find out more please email:

Notes for editors:

Rebecca Irani, PR officer, Citizenship Foundation

rebecca.irani@citizenshipfoundation.org.uk Tel: 020 7367 0525

OR: James Mitchell, The Stanway School and Humanities College

Tel: 01206 575 488

Notes for Editors

1. The Prizewinners’ Reception is hosted by Lord Phillips of Sudbury OBE, President of the Citizenship Foundation.

2. Prizes for the National Youth Parliament Competition will be presented by:

The Rt Hon Michael Martin MP, Speaker of the House of Commons Maria Eagle MP, Secretary of State for Children, Young People and Families

David Cameron MP, Conservative Shadow Secretary of State for Education Oliver Heald MP, Conservative Shadow Secretary of State for Constitutional Affairs Phil Willis MP, Former Liberal Democrat Shadow Secretary of State for Education

3. The winners of National Youth Parliament Competition 2004/5 are:

National Final Winner Debate subject or school

Winning School & Best Question Time The Stanway School and Humanities College Abolishing academic selection in secondary schools

National Runners-Up Newport High School for Girls Extending licensing hours

Other National Finalists James Allen's Girls' School Banning smoking in public places

Joseph Leckie Community Technology College Introducing national identity cards

Oakgrove Integrated College Banning smoking in public places

Best Prime Minister Andrew Kuszyk The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Minister

Abigail Rogers The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Leader of the Opposition Thomas Jackson Westcliff High School for Boys

Best Opposition Spokesperson Neema Begum Joseph Leckie City Technology College

Best Backbencher Lettie Graham

James Allen's Girls' School

Best Speaker of the House Jenny McCausland Glenlola Collegiate

The winners of the National Political Journalism Competition 2004/5 are:

School Team Issue

Broadcast Winner Darrick Wood Secondary School Neil Fenwick, Tom Stringer & Robert Peck Development of a new Tesco superstore in Orpington

Newspaper Winner Robert May’s School Claire McWethy, Hayley Pothecary & Thomas Etheridge Local housing development

Broadcast Runner up The Stanway School Philippa Russell, Angela Oxley-Crisp, Luke Wykes and Lauren Rampton Youth Crime

Newspaper Runner up Harrogate Grammar School Matthew Holehouse Freedom of Information Act

Other Broadcast Finalists Hinde House School Rebekah Walker, Sophie Clarke, Thomas Whitaker & Ashlee Martin The effect of daylight saving on teenage road accidents

Oakgrove Integrated College Rebecca Burns Northern Ireland Bill of Rights

Walton High School Thomas Swain, Alan Carr, Katie Wells Youth engagement in politics and voting

Other Newspaper Finalists Solo Entry from London Daisy Perrin Make Poverty History

St Mary’s Grammar School Aoife McCaffrey, Katrina Kelly, Niamh McGuckian and Laoiseach Scullion Immigration in Ireland

Solo Entry from Motherwell Stuart Douglas Brown’s billions for Africa

4. There will be a photocall on 7 July on College Green outside Parliament at 2pm

5. The Citizenship Foundation is an independent charity (no. 801360) which aims to empower individuals to engage in the wider community through education about the law, democracy and society. Founded in 1989, we focus particularly on developing young people’s citizenship skills, knowledge and understanding.


Our work includes:

• A comprehensive range of citizenship resources for a wide audience from teachers to young offenders.

• Nationwide and international training programmes.

• National active learning projects for secondary schools.

• Community projects to develop citizenship education as a collective responsibility.

• Research to advance our understanding of best practice in citizenship education.

6. The National Youth Parliament Competition was re-launched with sponsorship from Norwich Union in June 2003, at an event hosted by Cherie Booth at Downing Street.

7. Sponsorship of the National Youth Parliament Competition is part of Norwich Union’s responsible citizenship programme, which seeks to encourage individuals, business and Government not only to explore their rights but to take responsibility for their actions (www.aviva.com).

8. The National Youth Parliament Competition supports the statutory Citizenship curriculum for 11-16 year olds in England.

Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News