We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

5 July, 2005

Young political journalists thinking globally and acting locally

Finalists in the 2005 National Political Journalism Competition urge G8 leaders to drop the debt and to ‘make poverty history’; but also highlight local action with winning pieces on a new Tesco store in Orpington and a housing development in Basingstoke. Coinciding with the summit, competition winners will receive their prizes at the Houses of Parliament on Thursday 7 July.

A team of 12 and 13 year old pupils from Darrick Wood Secondary School from Bromley clinched the national prize in the broadcast category. The top award for print journalism went to the entry by three 15 year olds from Robert May’s School in Hampshire. Run by the Citizenship Foundation and sponsored by Norwich Union, the competition invites young people, aged 11 -18, to experience first-hand the relationship between politics and the media by tackling a political issue of their choice in print, TV or radio.

The interest in global and local issues amongst these year’s entrants, backed up recent research conducted by the Citizenship Foundation showing that local and international issues were of most importance to young people, as opposed to national issues and politics on a Westminster level.

The winners and runners-up will be awarded their prizes by Iain Watson, political correspondent, BBC Radio 4’s Today Programme and competition judge, and will have tea at Downing Street with Cherie Blair on 13 July.

A panel chaired by Michael Brunson (ex-political editor of ITN and Citizenship Foundation Trustee) and including journalists from the Today Programme, The Mirror Group, Newsnight and CBBC Newsround, judged the finalists’ entries.

To find out more please email:

Notes for editors:

1. The Prizewinners’ Reception is hosted by Lord Phillips of Sudbury OBE, President of the Citizenship Foundation.

2. The finalist print entries are available at www.citizenshipfoundation.org.uk/main/page.php?240.

3. If you would like copies of the broadcast entries, please contact the Citizenship Foundation on the number above. Photos will be available by email from 5pm on 7th July.

4. The winners of the National Political Journalism Competition 2004/5 are:

School Team Issue

Broadcast Winner Darrick Wood Secondary School Neil Fenwick, Tom Stringer & Robert Peck Development of a new Tesco superstore in Orpington

Newspaper Winner Robert May’s School Claire McWethy, Hayley Pothecary & Thomas Etheridge Local housing development

Broadcast Runner up The Stanway School Philippa Russell, Angela Oxley-Crisp, Luke Wykes and Lauren Rampton Youth Crime

Newspaper Runner up Harrogate Grammar School Matthew Holehouse Freedom of Information Act

Other Broadcast Finalists Hinde House School Rebekah Walker, Sophie Clarke, Thomas Whitaker & Ashlee Martin The effect of daylight saving on teenage road accidents

Oakgrove Integrated College Rebecca Burns Northern Ireland Bill of Rights

Walton High School Thomas Swain, Alan Carr, Katie Wells Youth engagement in politics and voting

Other Newspaper Finalists Solo Entry from London Daisy Perrin Make Poverty History

St Mary’s Grammar School Aoife McCaffrey, Katrina Kelly, Niamh McGuckian and Laoiseach Scullion Immigration in Ireland

Solo Entry from Motherwell Stuart Douglas Brown’s billions for Africa

5. The winners of National Youth Parliament Competition 2004/5 are:

National Final Winner Debate subject or school

Winning School & Best Question Time The Stanway School and Humanities College Abolishing academic selection in secondary schools

National Runners-Up Newport High School for Girls Extending licensing hours

Other National Finalists James Allen's Girls' School Banning smoking in public places

Joseph Leckie Community Technology College Introducing national identity cards

Oakgrove Integrated College Banning smoking in public places

Best Prime Minister Andrew Kuszyk The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Minister

Abigail Rogers The Stanway School and Humanities College

Best Leader of the Opposition Thomas Jackson Westcliff High School for Boys

Best Opposition Spokesperson Neema Begum Joseph Leckie City Technology College

Best Backbencher Lettie Graham

James Allen's Girls' School

Best Speaker of the House Jenny McCausland Glenlola Collegiate

6. There will be a photocall on 7 July on College Green outside Parliament at 2pm.

7. The Citizenship Foundation is an independent charity (no. 801360) which aims to empower individuals to engage in the wider community through education about the law, democracy and society. Founded in 1989, we focus particularly on developing young people’s citizenship skills, knowledge and understanding. www.citizenshipfoundation.org.uk.

Our work includes:

• A comprehensive range of citizenship resources for a wide audience from teachers to young offenders.

• Nationwide and international training programmes.

• National active learning projects for secondary schools.

• Community projects to develop citizenship education as a collective responsibility.

• Research to advance our understanding of best practice in citizenship education.

8. Sponsorship of the National Political Journalism is part of Norwich Union’s responsible citizenship programme, which seeks to encourage individuals, business and Government not only to explore their rights but to take responsibility for their actions (www.aviva.com).

9. The National Political Journalism Competition supports the statutory Citizenship curriculum for 11-16 year olds in England.

Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News