We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

19 June, 2008

Young debating prize-winners go to Holyrood

On Thursday 19th June, the Presiding Officer of the Scottish Parliament, Alex Fergusson MSP, will host a high-profile reception at Holyrood for pupils from Belmont Academy, Montrose Academy and Ellon Academy to celebrate winning this year’s Holyrood National Youth Parliament Competition. The Ministry of Justice sponsors National Youth Parliament Competition and the Awards Ceremony is sponsored by the office of Scotland’s first Commissioner for Children and Young People, Kathleen Marshall.

National Team Winners:

Belmont Academy, Ayr - strengthening school security.

Joint Team Runners-Up:

Ellon Academy, Aberdeenshire - free school meals in Scotland. Montrose Academy, Angus - motivating young people into work and education.

Congratulating the winning teams, Tony Breslin, Chief Executive at the Citizenship Foundation says: ”These students have captured the concerns of young people all over Scotland - and the UK - about the future and their role in shaping it. They have debated key issues, with rigour and passion,that affect us all.”


Judging Panel

Aileen Campbell MSP, South of Scotland SNP, John Lamont MSP, Roxburgh and Berwickshire, Scottish Conservative & Unionist, Jim Tolson MSP, Dunfermline West, Scottish Liberal Democrats. 

Logo of Scottish Commissioner Children and Young PeopleMinistry of Justice logo


Have your say

All comments are moderated before appearing on this website, and may be edited. Your comments may be published in any Citizenship Foundation media worldwide.

Privacy Policy

Important: Click on the underlined letter in the word above before pressing 'send', or your message will not be saved.


Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News