We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

3 July, 2007

National Youth Parliament Competition Winners to be awarded at House of Lords

David Cameron and Sir Menzies Campbell will be joining other high profile MPs presenting awards to the winners of the Citizenship Foundation’s National Youth Parliament Competition on Wednesday 4 July.

The event will take place in the House of Lords, and will be hosted by the President of the Citizenship Foundation, Andrew Phillips, OBE. Winners will also have the chance to quiz their real life counterparts as they receive their prizes.

Sponsored by the Ministry of Justice and the Jack Petchey Foundation, the National Youth Parliament Competition helps bring to life the process of Parliament, government and politics. To enter, teams of 11–18 year olds recreate the parliamentary chamber, take on the roles of Government, Opposition and backbench MPs and make a 20 minute video debate on a mock bill. Debates this year included proposed Bills to:

• Introduce Compulsory Voting

• Allow total freedom of the wearing of religious items in the workplace

• Make all vehicles over 1600ccs to pay an extra £100 in road tax

• Raise the legal age of alcohol consumption to 21

• Withdraw the United Kingdom from the Eurozone

The winning entries were judged by a panel of MPs and Ministers, including Bridget Prentice, Sarah Teather, Theresa May and Annette Brooke who said “I was so impressed with the level of debate, the research undertaken, and the overall performance reflecting the House of Commons – what better way to learn and absorb aspects of government and Citizenship.”

Tony Breslin, Chief executive of the Citizenship Foundation congratulated all the teams on their entries saying, “healthy democracies need well-informed citizens who understand the democratic process and have the skills and confidence to participate. The competition helps bring this to life by giving young people the opportunity to debate issues that are fundamental to their everyday lives.”

Over 170 schools and youth groups from around the UK entered the competition which is now in its sixteenth successful year.

National Winner

St Michael's Specialist Science School, Billingham

Topic: A bill to introduce road tax

National Runners-up (joint)

Knowsley Youth Parliament, Liverpool

Topic: A bill to raise the legal age of alcohol consumption to 21

Pershore High School, Wocestershire

Topic: A bill to withdraw the United Kingdom from the Eurozone

Best Question Time

The Stanway School and Humanities College, Colchester

Best Minister (joint)

Sean Kelly (closing speech), St Michael's Specialist Science School

Richard Reid (opening speech), Knowsley Youth Parliament

Best Opposition Spokesperson

Daniel Kirby, St Michael's Specialist Science School

Best Backbencher

Rebecca Moss, Simon Langton School for Boys, Canterbury

Best Speaker

Hannah Proctor, St Michael's Specialist Science School

Best Prime Minister

Christopher O'Brien, Simon Langton School for Boys

Best Leader of the Opposition

Michael Sweetman, Simon Langton School for Boys

Best Press Officer

Bex Bailey, Rushcliffe School, Nottinghamshire

Further information

To find out more please email:

Have your say

All comments are moderated before appearing on this website, and may be edited. Your comments may be published in any Citizenship Foundation media worldwide.

Privacy Policy

Important: Click on the underlined letter in the word above before pressing 'send', or your message will not be saved.


Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News