We use cookies to help us make this website better for our visitors. More about how we use cookies.

5 July, 2005

Essex School wins Youth Parliament Competition

A team from The Stanway School and Humanities College has won the National Youth Parliament Competition, also reaping the award for Best Question Time.

National Youth Parliament Competition logo.

Chosen by a cross-party panel of MPs, the team of over 200 students filmed a debate on abolishing academic selection in secondary schools.

11 year old Abigail Rogers won Best Minister for her opening speech, with Andrew Kuszyk, who returned to work with The Stanway School from Colchester Sixth Form College, winning Best Prime Minister.

The winners will be awarded their prizes in the House of Lords on 7 July and will have tea at Downing Street on 13 July.

Now in its 14th year, the competition helps bring to life the process of politics and government by offering young people the opportunity to set up and video their own parliamentary session. This year over 3,000 young people across the UK were involved.

“Stanway School has done extremely well this year to win both the main award and Best Question Time," said Tony Breslin, chief executive of the Citizenship Foundation.

"The National Youth Parliament Competition is an example of Citizenship education at its best: active, empowering and relevant,” he said.

James Mitchell, the teacher in charge of the school’s entry to the competition, praised the competition: “This is a tremendous achievement for the school, and a credit to the 200 students who took part...The provision of competitions by the Citizenship Foundation is invaluable.”

The National Youth Parliament Competition is open to 11-18 year olds nationwide. It is run by the Citizenship Foundation and sponsored by Norwich Union.


Printable version of this page. Printable version

Latest News